Pumpkin Donut Holes

Donut holes

This recipe reminds me of a fond memory with my friend Katherine :) I met Katherine while I was at college in Texas, she was my roommate freshman year and we became very close friends. So one weekend she took me fishing at Rockport, TX. That day we left early in the morning and on the way over we stopped to have some breakfast. In the store they served breakfast muffins, donuts and donut holes. And I remember Katherine asking me if I wanted some donut holes. But I had no idea what a donut hole was lol. So I decided to try some, and from that point on I became addicted to them! No but seriously. So this recipe that I found the other day combines two of my addictions (other than chocolate of course) donut holes and pumpkin!

I will dedicate this to my dear friend Katherine: without you I would have probably never discovered donut holes :) Let’s get started!

For this recipe you will need the following ingredients:

 Ingredientes donut holes

Dough

1 3/4 cups of white flour

1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon of ground allspice

1/8 teaspoon of ground cloves

2 teaspoons of baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of salt

3/4 cup of pumpkin puree (I recommend Libby’s 100% pure pumpkin)

1/2 cup of milk

1/2 cup of brown sugar

1/3 cup of vegetable oil

1 egg

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Cinnamon Sugar Coating

2 tablespoons of cinnamon

2/3 cup of white sugar

4 tablespoons of unsalted butter (melted)

For the coating feel free to adjust the recipe if you want more cinnamon or more sugar. Also you will probably need two batches of the coating to cover all the donut holes :)

1. Combine the dry ingredients: flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, ground allspice, ground cloves, baking powder and salt.

2. Whisk together pumpkin puree, milk, brown sugar, vegetable oil, egg and vanilla extract.

3. Combine the wet mixture with the dry ingredients and mix with a spatula.

Now to cook them I didn’t use an oven because recently I bought this incredible cake pop/donut hole machine. You can find it at amazon it’s called Babycakes Pop Maker, it’s really nice and inexpensive purple machine that will make 12 cake pops. At the time I bought it, I believe it was on sale so I got for about $20, which was a pretty good deal.

4. So the machine has special instructions in the manual. But basically once you preheat the pop maker you lightly coat it with oil spray and drop about a tablespoon of dough into each hole and let it bake for about 5 minutes, test it with a toothpick and its done!

5. Combine cinnamon and sugar for the coating.

6. Let the donut holes cool for about 2 minutes and then dip them in the melted butter and coat them with the cinnamon/sugar mixture.

And there you go :) These are definitively within my top desserts. They are so yummy and really easy to make.

Hope you enjoyed this recipe :)

Adapted from Damn Delicious

Leave a Reply

