Baked Zucchini Yum!

 Zucchini 2

So for this week I will catch up on my posts (since I haven’t posted much in a while after my last post, which was Steak Pizzaiola) and broaden my recipe book by adding appetizers! This one is baked zucchini strips, fries, however you want to call it. And I would very much like to say that I chose this recipe because it’s so healthy (which I kind of did). But truth be told, I chose it because I had a lot, and I mean a loooot of zucchini in my fridge :D Nevertheless, it turned out for the best because I really really liked this appetizer. It is good in so many ways! Unlike other appetizers that are really tasty but you like them so much you keep eating them and then when the main course comes, you just don’t feel like eating anymore. This one is nothing like that, it is healthy tasting, refreshing and something I’ve never tried before. So here we go let’s get started.

For this baked zucchini you will need the following ingredients:

3 medium zucchinis or one big zucchini

2 tbsp of olive oil or one egg

1 cup of bread crumbs

1/2 cup of seeds of your choice (unfortunately I didn’t have any seeds with me that day so I didn’t include them, but you definitively should!)

2 tbsp of quinoa

The original recipe was egg free so it used olive oil instead (I tried it for myself). However, I think that if you use eggs, it would have a richer taste and not only could you bake it but you could fry it as well.

1. Preheat oven at 425°F and have a baking sheet with parchment paper ready.

2. In a bowl whisk together the bread crumbs, seeds (if available) and quinoa then set aside.

3. Cut the zucchini in slices and then place them in a bowl and coat them with olive oil.

4. Taking one zucchini slice at a time, coat them with the crumb mixture completely.

5. Place on the baking sheet. At this time they will look like this:

Zucchini 1

6. Finally bake for 15 minutes turn the sheet to the other side and finish baking for another 10

minutes.

You can accompany this like I did with a ranch dip mixed with a little bit of milk so that it’s flavor is not as strong and it’s more thin. And there you go!

Hope you enjoyed this recipe :)

Adapted from Fork and Beans

Leave a Reply

